Newly certified PADI OW w/ uncertified partner - best dive options?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

eccokahlo

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi,

I am a newly certified PADI open water diver and am planning on spending a week in Roatan with my partner at the end of May 2014. He has never been diving before and I am a total beginner (though certified). Are there options for us to share open water diving experiences together while on the island even though he has not yet been certified? We have not booked lodging at this point. Thanks for any information.

Regards,
Ecco

On traveling dive trips, you will almost certainly be using rental gear, even if just tanks and weights. If a dive op. finds out you're using their gear to take an uncertified person scuba diving, don't be surprised if you get kicked out, no refund. So if that's what you mean by sharing open water diving experiences together even though he's not yet been certified, then I suggest no, don't do it. After all, if he has an anxiety attack and bolts for the surface holding his breath, gets an air embolism and dies or is permanently brain damaged, you'll bear some of that responsibility.

On the other hand, I imagine he could take a Discover Scuba Diving course or an Open Water Diving course while there, if not before.

Please clarify what sort of 'shared experiences' you have in mind.

Richard.