New to California diving....any helpful advice?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

ewaiea

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I'm new to diving in California - I've dove the Puget Sound for a drysuit course 5 years ago and loved it. I have a very unique opportunity to head out with Truth Aquatics and dive the backside of Catalina Island the Friday before Memorial Day weekend. I've dove PNG, Palau, Cocos Island, Hawaii, Florida, Washington State, the Bahamas and Cozumel. I'm very excited to get a few dives in the Channel Islands under my belt.

I'm bringing my new 8/7mm semi-dry wetsuit, a dive knife (for a tool in case of kelp entanglement), and all the rest of my usual diving stuff. I like to shoot photos so that will be what I'll be excited to do. I am aware that common California dive operator practice has the divemaster on the boat so I'll pair up with another diver or group of divers on the boat with Truth Aquatics. I'm also aware of early boat departures and the need to bring your own tanks and weights.

Are there any other helpful hints that a rookie like me can arm myself with? I am fairly experienced and have a few hundred dives but never in California.

That's what I figured. I heard you can snap it like a pencil.

That's true of giant kelp, which predominates in the south. In the north, our predominate bull kelp won't snap and break. You'll need a cutting edge.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk