Preparing for sidemount -- what new regulator?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

dreifish

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
1000 - 2499
I currently dive exclusively single tank backmount and own an apecks xtx200 regulator set with the xtx40 octo.

I'm planning an extended break from work over the next few months during which I'll be diving in SE Asia. One thing I'd like to do while out there is learn to dive sidemount (for open water redundancy initially -- I'm a photographer -- but eventually also for cave diving, potentially).

Because I'll be travelling and regulators are much more expensive to purchase in SE Asia than locally, I'd like to pick up a second regulator and the necessary hoses to be able to rig up a sidemount kit for the course and afterwards. What I need is some advice:

1. Should I pick up another XTX200? Or would an XTX50 (or other turret first stage design) be a better choice for hose routing? I will primarily be doing wetsuit diving, but may branch out into some drysuit diving in the future.

2. What's a good hose routing setup for sidemount if doing a lot of solo dives for photography? I'm thinking a 7" hose may not make a lot of sense in these circumstances since I wouldn't be sharing air with anyone.

(in terms of sidemount harness/wing setup, I haven't selected one yet, but am looking at the Razor, Hollis 50 and xdeep as options)

Last edited:
It's not strictly necessary, but 5-port turret stages have some advantages.