What is the current state of UW cameras?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

DougK

Contributor
Reaction score
To all list members: I am a professional photographer that just learned to dive. I just don't have any underwater cameras! I was familiar with the Nikonus system about 10 years ago but understand it has be discontunued.

What options are out there these days that would provide high-quality photos, film or digital? I don't want to spend a fortune -- as diving equp. cost a lot already -- but would give photos that would please a professional level shooter.

I have seen ads for Sea and Something cameras, but have no hands on experience with them. What is the best these days, the worst, etc? Are housing better than UW cameras?

I used a disposable underwater camera on a dive in Mexico and don't find it to be of good enough quality.

Many thanks for any comments.

I am not in anyway an underwater photographer (yet), but in reading through the various posts and looking on the various internet sites for underwater camera housings and cameras, you can get about anything you want.

Since you are a professional and have your own equipment, there is a good chance there is already a housing made for your camera, as well as a variety of flashes for underwater work too.

In the looking I have done, the available housings have been for the 35mm format in flim and both consumer digital and digital SLR cameras. I have not seen any housings for medium and large format film cameras.