Going to the BVI's

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

artsprite

Contributor
Reaction score
I'm going to the BVI's in the end of April. I'm a newbie and this will be my first opportunity to dive in the Caribbean. Does anyone have any ideas about the best places for a beginner to dive, or any places I should stay away from? Thanks, any info is appreciated.

Patty: I dove in the BVI's last June 2001. I used www.baskininthesun while in Tortola and www.DiveBVI while in Virgin Gorda.
Are you going to both places?
Be sure to dive the wreck the Rhone. It was the one used in the movie The Deep.
I'm pretty sure DocV has a whole cut and paste he can put on here from one of the articles he has written about this in the past.
He'll be along shortly ...

:wink:

Thanks Natasha, I'll be both places, but I don't think I'll be on Tortola long enough to dive there. I already knew that about the wreck of the Rhone, but I had heard that it is crowded because one end is shallow enough for snorkelers. I'll be on a Windjammer cruise, so I'll be going to several islands. I think there will be opportunities to dive every day (5), but I won't have the energy for that many.

Originally posted by artsprite
I'm going to the BVI's in the end of April. I'm a newbie and this will be my first opportunity to dive in the Caribbean. Does anyone have any ideas about the best places for a beginner to dive, or any places I should stay away from? Thanks, any info is appreciated.