Spearfishing rules in Florida

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

MtDoraBubba

Reaction score
Hi, I'm Rob. I'm a newbie.
Can someone please tell me the rules of where spearfishing is allowed in Florida.
I heard somewhere that spearfishing is not allowed within 3 miles of shore. Is this true and is it the same in the gulf?
Even if it is legal are there places close to shore where good catches can be taken.
I've looked at the rules at the FWC site and can't find anything about distances from shore.
I live just north of Orlando, but am planning on making trips to Tampa and south Florida.
Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks, MtDoraBubba

MtDoraBubba:
Hi, I'm Rob. I'm a newbie.
Can someone please tell me the rules of where spearfishing is allowed in Florida.
I heard somewhere that spearfishing is not allowed within 3 miles of shore. Is this true and is it the same in the gulf?
Even if it is legal are there places close to shore where good catches can be taken.
I've looked at the rules at the FWC site and can't find anything about distances from shore.
I live just north of Orlando, but am planning on making trips to Tampa and south Florida.
Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks, MtDoraBubba