Big Island, Oahu, and Kauai in December

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
I am going to Hawaii after Xmas for a wedding and I plan to stay one week. I really want to see lots of fish and other wildlife, particularly mantas and turtles. It seems like the best turtle "cleaning stations" are not do-able in winter surf; any suggestions? Also, any thoughts on whether the manta night dives are worthwhile? I am fairly new to diving and I do get seasick so maybe conservative suggestions would work best.

Thanks!

There is a lot to do on the big isle. Winter diving is no big deal here, it is hawaii after all. Mantas have been kinda scarce for a few weeks from what Ive heard, but maybe they willl be back while your here. Look in "West Hawaii Today" newspaper for vacation rentals....There are lots of operators that do snorkle/sucba mixes so that shouldn't be a big deal. I can give you some great combo shore dive spots also if you like. Aloha and enjoy your stay.

this isnt dive related but,,,if you are near kona on the big island, be sure to treat yourselves to Capt. Beans dinner cruise!, great food and the entertainment is superb.

btw, if you do, ( dont tell your husband ) tell the ladies when you board the ship to " get him " and have your camera ready!

Hotel, condo, house, anything. I'd like to have a kitchenette but it's not a necessity.

Thanks for the replies, keep em coming!