blue water filter inside or out

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

diverdowndiverup

Registered
Reaction score
Hi,

I am currently mounting a Sony TRV-340 inside a Sony Marine pack F340. I am very new to underwater video. But I am having fun. I guess I would get better color at 20M if I installed a blue water filter. I went to several camera stores finally found and bought a 35$ 52 mm filter. Should I attempt to mount it on the outside of the housing window so that it is easily removable. Perhaps some kind of hinged bracket. Or make use of the fine threads on the window housing and have the filter screw on.

Perhaps I should just mount the filter in front of the camera wide angle lense inside the housing.

The housing is verylarge and I have plenty of room.

Any opinions: Inside or outside the housing?

Thanks in advance

I have two filters one is internal that screws over the WA lens. The other is a remote "flip up" filter.

I like the flip up as I use two UK 100 Light Cannons as vifdeo lights and I need to remove the filter to shoot with them.

If I am sure that I am not going to use the lights (daylight, shallow dive, non-macro etc, then I will use the screw on one.

Just my experiences.

Thanks DiverMike. Guess I will experiment with mounting the filter on the outside. I think I will attempt to have some kinda bracket made at a local PVC pipe shop that will screw on infront of the housing window.