newbie q's 101... Why not JBL?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

rpnick

Registered
Reaction score
I live in the San Diego area and I'm interested in learning to spearfish. I've been fishing for 35 years, but only OUT of the water! Hoping for some answers... I gather from reading these threads that a pole spear is the best place to start. How exactly does one use it? Do you put the strap between your thumb and forefinger and keep hold of it, or do you let go for a shot? And is there anywhere around here to get some local info? Any books or dvd's that explain tips and tactics? Thanks folks, ...N

With a pole spear, you hold the rubber tubing as you describe. To "load" the spear, run your hand toward the tip of the spear, stretching the tubing. Hold tightly to the spear shaft until you are ready to shoot it. Open you hand and the spear goes in the direction it is pointed.

I also live in San Diego and use both pole spears and spearguns. Also, nothing wrong with JBL.

Thanks for that Tygh. I figured that was all there was to it, but thought perhaps one should tie a line to it and let go when shooting. Guessing you're supposed to hold on to it by the strap and that they're only for real close range shots... Hence the reason they're good for beginners, huh? Where do you normally go hunting? La Jolla or Pt. Loma? ...N

rpnick,