Halibut hunting in Monterey

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

BrianM

Contributor
Reaction score
I am fairly new to hunting (other than abalone)and decided I would like to get into it, so I recently bought a used speargun. The owner said it is great for Halibut and has taken hundreds with it and even drew me a map of good areas to try (off of Del Monte Beach). I am wondering if anyone has any tips or suggestions on where to look or if this time of year is even good for flatties?? The gun is a scubapro 36" Panther composite gun with 2 bands and a breakaway tip with a cable running to the shaft. I replaced the shock line as it was ready to fail, and I installed new bands. Other than that, it is in perfect shape.
I have heard you can swim over the sand dollar beds when the tide is just starting to go back out and you can spot them all over, but I just would like to get a few more opinions on where to go and what to look for.

Thanks

Brian

Be sure to shoot them from the front and not behind. When the shaft hits the fish, it will swim forward directly to you.
When you get your first Halibut, disect the head area and learn where the brain is, so the next time if you don't stone it, you will know where to "brain" it with your knife.

Kyle

BrianM: