new to underwater hunting

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

gr8fulr2

Reaction score
Ok I am new to this. I will only be freshwater hunting for now. I have my own scuba gear and I already got a JBL Super Carbine for christmas. I was wondering if there is anything else I need to buy and where I can get good underwater instructions for safe hunting.
Thanks,
Ron

-Fishing License
-Fish Stringer
-Cooler Box

Good Luck!

gr8fulr2:
I was wondering if there is anything else I need to buy and where I can get good underwater instructions for safe hunting.
Thanks,
Ron

Stiletto knife
Kevlar goves
Fillet knife
Small dive light
Extra spears
" head
" bands
" line/shock cord

Can't help you with instruction unless you come to West Central Florida.

Chad

What exactly do you mean by freshwater hunting? What are you after?
I have done some spearing in mountain lakes in Utah for trout, definitly an art to it. The best way to go is set bait(can of dog food with holes punched in the can) below a thermocline and get above it where you can see the bait, but are hiding, the trout come in slow to investigate. They are very skittish and this is the only way I have had good shots at 'em.

gr8fulr2:
Ok I am new to this. I will only be freshwater hunting for now. I have my own scuba gear and I already got a JBL Super Carbine for christmas. I was wondering if there is anything else I need to buy and where I can get good underwater instructions for safe hunting.
Thanks,
Ron