Where to find Manatees

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

ezglyder

Registered
Reaction score
I have a free stay in Kissimmee Feb.5-Feb.11 and want to swim with the manatees. Is there anyplace close to Kissimmee to do it. Any and all suggestion are welcome. Also plan to do some Springs and would appreciate input on that, too. I have lots of O/W experience but no cave certification.
Thanks,
Ezglyder

How far are you willing to drive? Crystal River is less than 2 hours away from Kissimmee and Blue Spring(Orange City) is less than an hour away.

SuPrBuGmAn:
How far are you willing to drive? Crystal River is less than 2 hours away from Kissimmee and Blue Spring(Orange City) is less than an hour away.
It would be easier to get to Blue Spring ain the early AM so it sounds like the first choice. Do I need to hire a boat or guide? Are there any restrictions on diving with manatess?
I appreciate Your help a bunch.
Ezglyder

A bunch of us were up there last week and there were 6 manatees, 5 playful ones and the other just didn't want to be bothered. There were signs saying not to touch them but it was hard to resist when they are begging for tummy rubs. If you go, get there early (no later than 11am) the park starts to fill up fast. I think the charge for me was $10 and some change to get into the park. Have a look in here these are a few photos Orlando Eric took on our trip.

Have fun!