PDA

View Full Version : Suunto Vytec Dive Computer



Christopher520
March 12th, 2005, 08:32 PM
I have just purchased a Vytec Dive computer. I'd like to hear from anyone who owns one. I'd like to know what your opion of it is?

And that includes the software that comes with it.

regards.

Christopher520

wedivebc
March 12th, 2005, 09:06 PM
300+ dives on mine. Just changed the battery. Good software. No complaints.

slingshot
March 12th, 2005, 11:11 PM
I have the Vytec as well, and have been diving with it about a dozen times. I've never lost signal during a dive, unlike my experience with an Aeris wireless which lost signal multiple times in a single dive. The Aeris experience stays with me, and I dive with a backup mini-console (Cressi-Sub) on my other high pressure port, but the Vytec has been solid so far. I also like its log function, and easy ability to change nitrox percentages. Have fun with it.

theskull
March 12th, 2005, 11:17 PM
You want our opinions AFTER purchasing it? Sure.

I absolutely love mine. The SUUNTO software is very user-friendly; a couple times through everything and you will not need the manual or flow chart. Display is very easy to read and buttons are easy to operate to access additional modes during the dive, which is a rare need anyway. It is an excellent deco diving computer (assuming you have the training and equipment to make deco dives), including 3-gas switch on-the-fly and depth ceilings (although it only displays the most shallow possible stop--you need to have the training and experience, and tables, to calculate the deeper stops to enhance your safety and offgassing.)

Reliability is very high! The failures I've heard reported were few and far between, and company support is excellent at replacing those that were bad.

Enjoy it!!

theskull

Quarrior
March 13th, 2005, 02:34 AM
I second the skulls comments, especially the part about asking for advice after the purchase of the product. I love my Vytec.

wedivebc
March 13th, 2005, 09:54 PM
OK I changed my mind. I like my vytec but.... It will not allow me to change to deco gas at 1.6 po2. It seems to want me to be shallower before I do my gas switches than I would normally. Since I don't use the vytec as a computer on most deeper dives it's never been an issue but I thought I would try it today and now I'm locked out for 24hr.

theskull
March 13th, 2005, 10:06 PM
OK I changed my mind. I like my vytec but.... It will not allow me to change to deco gas at 1.6 po2. It seems to want me to be shallower before I do my gas switches than I would normally. Since I don't use the vytec as a computer on most deeper dives it's never been an issue but I thought I would try it today and now I'm locked out for 24hr.

Small problem, easy solution. You only have to be 1 foot shallower to make the switch (example = 19 ft. for O2, will not switch at 20).

First, make sure you program the deco gasses in for a PP of 1.6. Next, consider lying just a bit--I tell my Vytec that my final deco gas is 95% rather than 99%--then it will let me make the switch at 22 ft. or less, and does not affect the deco time.

Enjoy your dives,

theskull

wedivebc
March 13th, 2005, 11:37 PM
Small problem, easy solution. You only have to be 1 foot shallower to make the switch (example = 19 ft. for O2, will not switch at 20).

First, make sure you program the deco gasses in for a PP of 1.6. Next, consider lying just a bit--I tell my Vytec that my final deco gas is 95% rather than 99%--then it will let me make the switch at 22 ft. or less, and does not affect the deco time.

Enjoy your dives,

theskull
Ok thanks, I love my vytec again.

DiveTrain
March 31st, 2005, 02:08 PM
Anybody else have any problems with the transmitter. I am looking at going with the vytec with AI but have heard there are problems with the wireless transmitter not necesariy with the vytec but transmitters in general. Every time there was no mention of the manufacturer so I'm not sure if it's primarely certain models or manufactures. Any real time users with any transmitter?

Quarrior
March 31st, 2005, 02:53 PM
My Vytec has the transmitter and I haven't had a problem with it, but, I also have an SPG. I would never ever dive with just the transmitter, just to risky for my taste.

Warren_L
March 31st, 2005, 03:00 PM
Anybody else have any problems with the transmitter. I am looking at going with the vytec with AI but have heard there are problems with the wireless transmitter not necesariy with the vytec but transmitters in general. Every time there was no mention of the manufacturer so I'm not sure if it's primarely certain models or manufactures. Any real time users with any transmitter?

Almost 200 dives, never lost signal from the transmitter.

DiveTrain
March 31st, 2005, 05:18 PM
My Vytec has the transmitter and I haven't had a problem with it, but, I also have an SPG. I would never ever dive with just the transmitter, just to risky for my taste.

Right, I'm thinking the same thing. I was wanting redundant air readings and since I was looking at upgrading my computer the AI transmitter fits with what I want to do. I also want to chart my air consumption during dives so that means AI. With the SPG I should have best of both worlds.

murrr77
April 29th, 2005, 04:42 PM
I like it, but be sure you know how to resync the transmitter! Many times I've gotten all my gear ready to go, synced up the transmitter only to have to wait a while for everyone else to get ready. After several minutes of no pressure change the transmitter shuts off. You have to change the pressure (i.e. hit your reg once) and then press a sequence of buttons on the watch to get it to look for a signal again.

pjomm
April 29th, 2005, 04:49 PM
I am vert happy with my SUUNTO. I hope you like it as well. The software is good and the downloading is easy enough.

All the best,

Paul

Nitro
April 30th, 2005, 10:56 AM
I have a vytec and a d9 and never had a problem with the transmitter on either computer after many dives. You will love this computer wheather it's rec or tec diving your into. As a little test I setup my regs and synced my vytec with the transmitter and had someone breath air from the reg while I walked away. I got up to 3 meters away before the signal started to drop out a little.

Christopher520
April 30th, 2005, 05:43 PM
Almost 200 dives, never lost signal from the transmitter.

Hi.

I'm interested in your reg setup.

I don't like wearing equipment on my wrists so right now i attach my vytec to my BC inflator hose, but i find its a bit close to my face so i have a hard time seeing it properly.

At some point i'll be forced to wear a wrist compass, but as i said, i hate wearing stuff on my wrists.

Im at a loss in how to configure my reg set right now

I use to attach my computer to my consol hose, but with the air transmitter i don't use the consol any more


so im looking for a way to attach my computer and compass to a hose


got any idea's i'd love to hear them.

christopher


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1