Cheap Bands...but something looks a little fishy! [Archive] - ScubaBoard

View Full Version : Cheap Bands...but something looks a little fishy!


Sponsored Link
grouchyturtle
March 17th, 2005, 05:46 PM
I'm building doubles soon and was probably going to go with Roman's bands http://members.aol.com/mrdeco/page/index5.htm

Sent him an email, and he won't be making any for about 2 months.

So I was searching around today and came across this site.
http://www.sea-lutions.com/double_bands/

$65 for a set of bands, still pretty cheap...BUT those are the exact same pictures as on Roman's site! They're in PA, so I though maybe they're reselling his bands, but the page says that they manufacture them.

They only provide a PO Box, no real address, called the #, but only get that annoying fax/modem sound. Still waiting on a response to my email.

Anyone ever hear of these guys?

MAK52580
March 17th, 2005, 05:49 PM
I work with international procurement of capital scientific equipment in the former Soviet Union. A lot of times we get really suspicious looking invoices for what we may think are fake/front companies.

If we get them, we check them out, the address, phone numbers, websites, etc. If they don't check out, we use best judgement and don't do business with them. It is always to be better safe than sorry.

From the sounds of this, you have already done your research and answered your own question.

grouchyturtle
March 17th, 2005, 05:58 PM
Actually all of the equipment image on their site look like they may have been swiped from other sites. The style isn't consistent and retouching a a few of them is a little messy, as if they were working from low res art (not the orginal photo).

Strange thing is, even if it is a scam, they don't tell you how to pay. Am I suppossed to just send a check to that PO Box? If so they don't even list shipping prices and a few of their products don't even have prices.

Hoosier
March 17th, 2005, 06:29 PM
You had better use eBay like I did. It might be less risky investment. I just got my double band from eBay. It looks fine with the final price ($55 shipped).



Actually all of the equipment image on their site look like they may have been swiped from other sites. The style isn't consistent and retouching a a few of them is a little messy, as if they were working from low res art (not the orginal photo).

Strange thing is, even if it is a scam, they don't tell you how to pay. Am I suppossed to just send a check to that PO Box? If so they don't even list shipping prices and a few of their products don't even have prices.

jbd
March 17th, 2005, 06:29 PM
Have you tried www.northeastscubasupply.com ? or www.scubatoys.com ?

aquaoren
March 17th, 2005, 06:53 PM
This guy (http://feedback.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewFeedback&userid=tech_n_rec_solutions&item=7131652623&iid=7131652623&frm=1883&ssPageName=STRK:MEWA:SFS) is making custom bands.
I got mine from him and it is an excellent craftsmanship and very reasonably priced ;)

Hoosier
March 17th, 2005, 07:45 PM
Hey, thanks... It seems to be a great source, specially the custom made order from ebay. I definately check out for 8 inch tank. Mine is 7.25 inch.

grouchyturtle
March 18th, 2005, 05:03 PM
Just got an email from Roman. It isn't a scam. He used to be partners with Sealutions. They are just yet another company that went out of business, but never took their site down.

Rooster1
March 20th, 2005, 11:19 AM
This guy (http://feedback.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewFeedback&userid=tech_n_rec_solutions&item=7131652623&iid=7131652623&frm=1883&ssPageName=STRK:MEWA:SFS) is making custom bands.
I got mine from him and it is an excellent craftsmanship and very reasonably priced ;)

he is a local guy makes em right here. You are right the craftsmanship is excellent

diver1369
March 20th, 2005, 02:38 PM
Try 'victor341968@hotmail.com' - lives in Canada, and makes killer SS doubles bands to order for your tank/manifiold setup. I just received a set from him for my Faber 85s and a Thermo DIN manifild (bit different spacing than the standard 8.5) and the bands are incredible. $85 US including shipping and they are every bit the equivalent of Highland Mills.

jeb




I'm building doubles soon and was probably going to go with Roman's bands http://members.aol.com/mrdeco/page/index5.htm

Sent him an email, and he won't be making any for about 2 months.

So I was searching around today and came across this site.
http://www.sea-lutions.com/double_bands/

$65 for a set of bands, still pretty cheap...BUT those are the exact same pictures as on Roman's site! They're in PA, so I though maybe they're reselling his bands, but the page says that they manufacture them.

They only provide a PO Box, no real address, called the #, but only get that annoying fax/modem sound. Still waiting on a response to my email.

Anyone ever hear of these guys?

aquaoren
March 20th, 2005, 03:20 PM
he is a local guy makes em right here. You are right the craftsmanship is excellent
Yup, Victor is the man.
As you can see, lot's of excellent feedback. ;)

Detroit Mudpuppy
April 17th, 2005, 12:48 AM
Thank you very much you guys! your kind words and referals about the bands are very much appreciated.

Dive safe and have fun :)
Vic

Sponsored Link

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2