Mental block

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

JustinW

Contributor
Reaction score
I'm sure you all have experienced something like this at one time or another. I don't have much experience free diving, although I have been doing it for the last 3-4 years or so. I mainly don't hit anything under 30, but I'm just freediving for abalone around here, no need to go much deeper.

While holding my breath underwater it seems I always feel tingly, nervous sorta. The feeling is hard to describe, perhaps its fear in getting caught in the kelp I dive in.

I feel anxious and while I don't have any problem with a breathhold of 2 minutes or so, I can't seem to calm my mind down.

oh my, thats a tough one and afraid I can't really help you. I will say that once you become a comfortable diver your diving will improve very rapidly. every diver I have ever met, including myself, had a mental "issue" with their diving at one point. once you get past it, look out! every thing suddenly becomes much more fun :D

thanks, like i said I feel that i am more comfortable and a better diver than my peers I dive with, but this thing just gets to me, when i'm on the surface I can almost go to sleep, I feel comfy in the water, but the back of my mind is just screaming