Opinions on wetsuit diving in NE

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

macado

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
# of dives
2500 - 4999
Alright here it goes:
I'm sort of a rookie when it comes to New England diving, pretty much all of my dives thus far have been in tropical Caribbean water with the exception of a few lakes around here. Nevertheless, even though i've been a resident here my entire life, i've yet to take the plunge into New England diving I'm currently waiting to get a few days off work to begin diving around here.

My question is regarding exposure suits. I know most of you are die hard drysuit fans so I don't want to turn this thread into a wetsuit vs drysuit war but I welcome all opinions/information.

In the tropics i'm spoiled and usually dive in a 3mm shorty, however I do have a 5mm full wetsuit and have another 5mm wetsuit shortie with a hood that goes over primary wetsuit, giving me about 10mm for my chest and lower body. Technically speaking, if I had a semi-high tolerance for cold, would this setup be sufficient until decide to bite the bullet and go dry? Of course, I have 5mm gloves and boots as well. I know everyone has their own tolerance for cold and opinions may vary but has anyone dived with a similar setup? I'd like to here your opinions. Also, if needed I could also add another layer, I know my 3mm shorty could fit until my other wetsuits, giving me 3 layers of neoprene? What about doing this? yay/nay?