TDI Basic Nitrox Book

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

RedCash02

Contributor
Reaction score
I recently signed up for the TDI Basic Nitrox course and just completed reading the book they publish. I had the option to take the PADI Nitrox course for the same price, but I opted for TDI because I figured their books would be of higher quality and well.... more "technical". Prior to reading the book, I studied the $16 piece of crappy plastic that contained the EAD, MOD, etc, and thought I had figured out basically how to use the table and do the required dive planning. Then I read the book and realized it took them all 50 pages to show me how to use a chart. There was less than a page about what to do if something goes wrong. I know that this should never happen, but I still think there should be a greater emphasis on what action to take if it's your buddy. They mention the convulsions and that if anything appears wrong ascend? but what do u do if you find someone in convulsions how should you secure them? whats the plan of action after they are out of water?

They also show you how to use the chart before they show you the math behind it, which is a mistake IMHO. Most of the information on this chart is a shortcut for calculating P02, EAD, and MOD. You weren't given a calculator before you could add, and you shouldn't have been given a dive computer before you knew the tables (which aren't as much of a shortcut because most of that information r.