Please help me with my buoyancy :)

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

im_a_piranha

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi Everyone :D I am new to this sport (just got OW certified) and I already love it, even if my buoyancy sucks...but I'll keep practicing for sure..I love these forums, they are so very helpful and I know I can get some pretty good advice here :blinking:

So here goes my question. I'm a girl, 5'4", 122lbs. I would say that I'm faily athletic but of course still has a normal girl's physique (chest, hips...whatever you call them). Anyway, I've done 5 dives so far and I know I've been overweighted in every single one of them and when I cut down on the weight, I cannot sink! Here's the details, maybe you can help me. Oh, and before I forget, I dove in Catalina California (Cold!).

Dive 1 & 2: I had 26 lbs. I was soooo tired and it seemed like I had to fully inflate my bc for me to be able to start swimming. So heavy :( I wore a 7mm full suit with a 5mm vest and hood and booties. I had a steel tank.

For the following dives, I had an aluminum tank.
Dive 3: I tried going with 20lbs at first but I couldn't sink. Was wearing the same 7mm full suit with 5mm vest and my booties. I was also wearing ankle weights because I had trouble with my fins floating up on my previous dives. I couldn't sink at all with the 20lbs in my quick release so the instructor had to give me 5lbs more. I was able to go down, but I know I was too heavy again because I feel like I drag myself when I start swimming.