What to do in this situation as a buddy?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Scott from LongIsland

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
Hello all. I just joined this board and I am rather new to diving...so I have a question about a recent dive.

There were three of us on this dive, myself, a friend of mine and the divemaster. This was a shore dive on Bonaire, so it was warm, clear water. The dive is a drift dive where you basically just drift along the coral slope that drops down into the blue. So it was basically a straight line once you reach the dropoff.

We are swimming along at about 40-50ft when I notice that my buddy (this was his second dive after his OW certification and my 4th) turns upright and is having difficulty clearing his mask. It wasn't a "panic" difficulty it was more that he just needed to go upright I guess. Anyway, I slow down and look up to him and notice that he has ascended a good 15-20ft quite rapidly from turning upright. I give him the okay signal and he returns the signal and then starts descending. At this point I felt better so we kept going.

My question here is...if my buddy does not return the okay signal, do I shoot up and try to drag him back down? How long do you wait before trying to do something? When looking up, I got a little concerned at the depth change of my buddy. Am I being overly cautious? Luckily he gained control of the situation rather quickly. I was on the verge of acting though, but at the sametime...I cannot lie, I was concerned for my own safety.