Underwater crime scene investigation

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

mike2885

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
hello everyone
i was wondering if anyone does this. i was lookin to attend ucsi program at flordia state university. has anyone gone throught the program and what is it like. are the any jobs on the federal level that are in this feild. how much money can be made doing this. and wat do you do

Ask 'em in the PSD forum. Those guys will have the skinny for you.

As a part time cop, I'd love to get involved in it, too. Seems fascinating.

I've heard good things abut the program from some forensics people I go to school with that had taken that previously.

These services and teams are dependent upon cash available to support them.

Liability issues alone preclude most governmental agencies from maintaining even a "part time" forensic (evidence collecting) qualified dive team, much less a tactical (law enforcement) dive team. (see Tactical Watreborne Operations -Waterborne Operations - Chief Bronson has gone un-noticed at more than a few DEMA shows.)

Larger cities support harbor patrols, adjunct to which you may find either dedicated divers or officers who also hold that duty when the time and need arises. Some organizations utilize cross trained fire department divers who can support the evidentiary process by attaining a required level of certification protocols.