DAN - is their insurance coverage necessary?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

watersquirrel

Registered
Reaction score
I'm new to diving, and I'd like to know what everyone thinks of DAN. Is it good insurance for divers? How many divers get DAN insurance,and if you have DAN insurance, which coverage do you think is best?
I want to be safe and I believe in being prepared in case of emergency, but since I am new to all this, is this something I need from the beginning or only when I start diving on a regular basis?

watersquirrel once bubbled...

I want to be safe and I believe in being prepared in case of emergency, but since I am new to all this, is this something I need from the beginning or only when I start diving on a regular basis?

Statistically, you are reported to be at a higher risk of DCI during your first 12 dives. When you are new and more often than not surfacing and saying "darn, I was suppose to do a 3 minute safety stop at 15 feet, and I forgot".

Do you need dive insurance? Consider my situation on, interestingly enough dive 12 two years ago.

Night dive at Redondo Beach CA. Knocked down by wave on entry. After a dive of 14 minutes surface to surface to 107 feet (long story and it was not the plan) and after surfacing at less than 60 feet per minutes and even doing stops at 60, 40, 20 and 15, I went to dinner feeling ok. A good dive and within limits on all points.