What to do with Down Current?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Evan Soon

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
After reading the news about Crystal Bay or Nusa Penida, I was wondering what would one do with down currents? I have no experience with it yet but would 100% like to know what to do when it hits.

Mind sharing some down current experience as well for reference?

It does not appear down currents played any part in the current missing/found divers at Nusa Penida.

That been said, the commonly accepted solution appears to be to swim out away from the wall and at the same time inflating your BCD. I have no idea if this always works, but to most it would seem to be the opposite of what you should do, hence why many do not do and die.

It depends on the local topography. In general if you're on a site that is a known difficult site with currents just stick with the guide and do what they do, they know the sites, they know the danger areas. They will brief you and give you the hand signals and what to do.