Wetsuit Suggestions for California

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi there!

My name is Brendan and I am new to Scuba/scubaboard. I recently got my certification during vacation in the Cayman Islands and have fallen in love with Scuba. I will be attending UCSB as a junior starting in October and want to further my diving career as well as do some local spear fishing. When school is not in session I live in the Bay Area, California where the water is god damn cold lol.

I am looking to purchase a good wetsuit, I want to get something that will work for socal waters as well as norcal waters and I don't mind spending a little extra to get the "right" equipment. Scuba Dan's in San Jose recommended a 7mm wet suit and another dive friend of mine suggested a 7mm full suit, with a vest. Can anyone recommend some good brands/suits to start doing research on? I would greatly appreciate it!

Thank you,

Brendan

You're on the right track, a 7mm is about the minimum, really depends on you're tolerance but a semi-dry is also recommended. However, if you plan on diving deeper than 60' or so, a drysuit is the way to go for a multitude of reasons.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

You're on the right track, a 7mm is about the minimum, really depends on you're tolerance but a semi-dry is also recommended. However, if you plan on diving deeper than 60' or so, a drysuit is the way to go for a multitude of reasons.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk