Neoprene allergy??

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

coolaneasy

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
Hi guys

I'm a newbie diver and I'm still going to the pool sessions. I have decided I would go to the ocean when I'm happy and comfortable with myself and the equipment.
Now it so happened that I started getting itchy rashes starting from the next to about 2 inches from the ankle. Initially I thought it was chlorine from the pool but when I just go swimming at another pool I'm fine. I believe I'm getting allergies to the wetsuit which is aqualung solfafx made from neoprene. The rashes were more intense in the neck area where I had more neoprene from the hood hanging around my neck and the flap that goes over the neck. The thing is that my booties are made from neoprene as well. However I have no allergic reaction on the feel. Thats what is confusing me. The neoprene on the booties and in the suit do seem like different. Are there different kinds of neoprenes? Is it neoprene allergy that I have.

Any thoughts?

Thanks
Chetan

If you were in Canada, I would suggest you get an allergy test done. Since you are in the USA, I would still suggest it, if it is covered, or you can afford it.

Try a different brand. Try a different style. It may be something else that is added.

Thanks for the suggestion swimmer. While I haven't decided to do an allergy test yet. I have tried out a couple of dive skin tests(henderson spandex and pinnacle inferno).