"It's like I died and went to Confined Water heaven..."

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

RJP

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
# of dives
1000 - 2499
As a new instructor I've spent the last few years training and working in an indoor pool. Was great, of course, to have the pool right there in the shop and I long considered myself to have been spoiled. Sure, it was only 7' deep... and at 6'2" myself there wasn't much room for many students or an assistant in a pool that is about the size of a modest backyard suburban pool. But it sure was convenient.

Well, today I spent my first day ever in the aquatic and scuba facilities at a local university; a c
omplex which houses two amazing pools that would make any instructor think they died and went to Confined Water Heaven!.

The "Patio Pool" is a large L-shaped pool, comparable in size to what you'd find at your local YMCA. But where the similarity ends is the fact the left side of the pool in the photo below has an adjustable floor - allowing an instructor to dial in any "water shallow enough to stand" depth they might like between 0 and 6ft.

patiopool.JPG