Who does NOT log their dives?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
Some friends and I had this conversation this past weekend.Some said that they dont log there dives any more. I have been diving for 4 years, I work as a DM for a local shop and I log every dive.I even use the back of the log sheet to write stuff on! So my question is how many of you do/dont log your dives?

Max.BT

It seems that logging would be a good thing, especially for a DM if you were to move to another dive shop at some point. I log just to keep a record, but then I keep my pay stubs and bills all year too. If you were never going to go past OW or AOW and you had been diving for years, maybe you see no sense in it. I guess it's just personal preference. I like to be able to see trends, as far as water temp for a given area, how much air I use, how well I did lobstering at a certain place, etc.

I believe in logging every DIVE - every person has a different meaning of that word. If I've been in the openwater 20min +, I count that as a dive. If not for that length of time, I'll put in a journal entry, but don't count as a dive or bottom time.

As jobowker pointed out, I would want to know info about the year before, where I dove, temps for that week, month (maybe that doesn't matter if your a warm water diver) fish or other things seen,surface and water conditions and so on.... IMO that is all important information.

Where in Ontario are you from Max? :cool: