Serious question about PADI

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Status
Not open for further replies.

DougK

Contributor
Reaction score
After reading about a page and 1/2 of the previous PADI AND THE FUTURE thread, I did have a very serious question:

I am new to diving and this board: I detect a dislike of PADI among the posters? Why is that?

When I was looking into diving I was only familiar with PADI. However the time I needed to get certified within before a trip forced me to use a SSI shop about an hour away in another town. (The local PADI shop's course ran through the departure date of my trip.) At the time, I was uncertian about using SSI which I had never heard of.

I seem to get a feel from this board that this may have been a good thing?????? Do you folks think SSI is better than PADI?

I however felt my SSI class was a bit rushed, and my instructor left us with the instructions to treat our certification like a "learners permit."

Are you down on PADI becuse they are the "fast food" of diving or what?

What is DIR?

Again this is a serious post from a new diver.

DougK,
There is much agency bashing within the diving community. Don't worry about it too much. The most common advice is to pick an instructor that you are comfortable with and who has been recommended to you. Interview them if you can. All the agencies teach basically the same thing at the entry level. There are some differences but they are not show stoppers.