SDI vs. PADI ?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

PKeigh

New
Reaction score
I am a new student in with an SDI instructor. AFTER beginning classes and searching on the internet, I realized that there are several different courses out there. My instructor had us watch a DVD, read the SDI coursework, answer the questions - then reviewed them in a brief classroom setting. We now do 4 to 6 hours of pool work, then we do 4 dives. Through looking at other dive centers on the internet (none of them close to me), it seems like I'm not doing as much classroom work as most - My question, should I be concerned? Will my certification be as accepted as a PADI or YMCA certification? Should I continue on thru another agency? SDI teaches with the aid of dive computers - is it safe to just learn relying on a computer...??? Any advice?

PKeigh: