Why do my calves keep cramping with my fins on???Help!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Lulunew2scub

Registered
Reaction score
Hi Everyone, I am new to scuba and just finished my 2nd confined water dive tonight and can't figure out why my calves keep cramping when I'm swimming around underwater with fins on. I've never had this problem before and am wondering what I'm doing wrong! Help please!

Lulunew2scub:
Hi Everyone, I am new to scuba and just finished my 2nd confined water dive tonight and can't figure out why my calves keep cramping when I'm swimming around underwater with fins on. I've never had this problem before and am wondering what I'm doing wrong! Help please!

This could be that you have a fin that is too stiff for you. The super stiff straight blades are usually better for people with lots of leg strength.

You should try renting/buying/borrowing a pair of split fins, which have a split down the middle running from the tip of the fin to your toes. These are usually easier on the legs but you'll have to try them out for yourself like most scuba equipment.

Good luck, and welcome to the board and the underwater world!

could be wrong size of fins, or maybe the fins are too stiff. I had the same problem and went to softer fins, and that has helped a lot. One other thing, make sure you arent dehydrated.