bonaire or roatan in september?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

cba191

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
i am new to diving and want to go to the caribbean. i think i've narrowed it down to roatan and bonaire. advantages or disadvantages for either? i'll be going to hawaii in august, so i'll have a few dives under my belt. if it matters, i'll probably be going solo.
thanks,
ben

For what it's worth, I have just gone through a similar decision process myself. For October (my trip), Bonaire seems the better choice. The diving is pretty much the same year round, and it is outside the hurricane belt. From what I understand, Feb-June is the best time to dive in Roatan, and I have decided to wait on going there until the best time to go. Not to mention, if you plan to take any day trips to Utila for Whale Shark sightings, Feb-June is the best time for that.

Granted, my plan is for Bonaire in Oct, and Roatan in May of 2008, so I get the best of both... :wink:

bonaire has awesome shore diving and very good boat dives; there is not much to do for a non-diver, but it's a diver's paradise

roatan is designed for all-inclusive packages. you basically stay in a resort, eat there, and dive there. it's got even less to do for a non-diver than bonaire

frankly, i prefer bonaire. it has a much more "civilized" flavor, and yet the diving is awesome.