VOL #2 Helmets of the deep

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Sam Miller III

Scuba Legend
Scuba Legend
Rest in Peace
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
CALIFORNIA: Where recreational diving began!
# of dives
5000 - ∞
Helmets of the Deep --Volume #2

I am in almost daily certainly weekly contact with Leon Lyons, generally on historic SCUBA items --However, I have 3 hats plus 2 swimmer hats and 2 S/S F/F masks, all are very common. I have little or no knowledge of the rare items listed in his first book and certainly will know even less abut those in his second book...but that is why books are written, printed, sold and collected- to educate the uneducated masses.

Per Leon Lyons;

"The first book I think has some 259 hats pictured in it, and I think some 2, 3, 4 hundred more maybe, will be added to that amount. Have not yet had the time to add it all up yet. You figure that when I did my first book, I had 160 or so hats in my collection. Today that amount is around 316. Then we add the hats I do not have, that are in other collector's collections, and that numbered amount keeps growing. Of course, some of the hats will be variations, or the same, but with important military, or commercial markings on them to be different from the other, in my opinion.

I wish I could give to you a finalized date, but no can do, for not knowing what could pop up."
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Therefore;
Vol #1=259 Hats .....Vol #2=200, 300 possibly 400 Hats will be added
As many as 659! will be in Vol #2!