traveling to Germany, want to dive in England while there

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

gaffman

New
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hello all, my name is Jay and I will be visiting family based in Germany the last 2 weeks in August. I would like to come to England and do some diving while I'm there. I am relatively new to diving, and I will be taking the Padi Advance Open Water course before leaving home. I'm not sure if I'll have this opportunity again, so I'd really like to dive a wreck or two. I will be on my own from August 19th through the 22nd which is when I would like to dive. Any advice?

Where have you dived before? What is your experience? Do you know how to put up a DSMB? Diving in the UK is great, but there are factors that come into play when diving in the sea. You may have trouble finding someone to dive with as the sea can be an unforgiving place. It's cold, vis can be questionable, it can be dark, etc.
I would post over on the The Dive Forum (www.thediveforum.com). It's mainly UK based, so you may have some luck. if you're going to be based in the southern part of the country, I would suggest somewhere like Portland Harbour to dive. Loads of wrecks, shallow, and the weather has to be really ****e to not get out. I would also suggest diving with Scimitar (Scimitar Diving | Dive Charters | PADI & SSI Dive Schools | Covering Dorset from Weymouth & Portland). Not sure if they hire kit though.