A review of Backplate/Wing vs. Jacket BC

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

large_diver

Contributor
Reaction score
As requested in another thread, I have compiled a rather LONG review of my jacket BC (Sea-Quest Pro QD), my decision to switch to a backplate/wings, and a comparison of this set-up to my old BC after a grand total of 5 dives. As background – I am a relative newbie diver with about 60 total dives. I dive in New England with a 7mm farmer john/jacket wetsuit as well as a hooded vest.

PART I: Review of the Sea-Quest Pro QD

I bought a SeaQuest Pro QD jacket BC shortly after my OW course. The site below is a link to the Sea-Quest Pro QD+, the latest version of the QD that is most similar to my BC.

http://www.sea-quest.com/pages/bc/bc_proqdplus.html