Looking for a bcd... Considering zeagle

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Zhomich

New
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Hi there, I am pretty new to scuba diving just starting to Acquire all my gear I'm looking to buy a bc and thief just seems to be to many options and was wondering what you guys recommend. I have been really looking at the zeagle ranger and tech 10 anyone have anything Good or bad to say about them?

they're good bc's. You see a lot of people on this board recommending backplate and wings, and I am a firm believer in them despite being a sidemount diver. You need to really look at your long term diving goals before deciding on a rig. The Ranger and Tech 10 are expensive pieces of equipment, and are somewhat limiting for long term diving goals if you are interested in technical diving further down the road. If you are doing a lot of local diving a SS backplate with single tank adapter and SS cam bands can take 10lbs off of your belt and don't weight much more than the Ranger *8.4lbs dry*, so you're at 18.4lbs to get 10lbs negative with the Ranger, vs 12 ish lbs for a backplate and wing.

There are lots of Zeagle fanboys out there and they have every right to be, but for the money there are much better options out there and the option to spend quite a bit less.
DRIS Dive Gear 28lb BP/W System | Dive Right In Scuba - Plainfield, IL - Dive Right in Scuba
For under $400 this is the best bang for the buck bcd out there, if you want to spend a bit more
https://www.deepseasupply.com/index.php?page=rigs