Transpac II and wing question

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

bpage08

Registered
Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to scuba and I recently got my OW certification and I'm in the market to buy a new set of gear. I've already purchased everything except for my BCD because I'm undecided on what to get. I think I've decided on the transpac II and trek wing. Is this all that I will need in regard to the BCD? I've only used jackets so far but I tried one of these on at my local shop and I like how it felt. Will the transpac II and trek wing be everything I need to completely replace the rental jack I've been using?

Thanks

in my opinion the trek wing is not the best wing for a single tank. Diverite has smaller wings designed for only single tanks, have you considered one of them?

I have considered them but the reason I was planning on the trek wing is for the future if I decide to upgrade to dual tanks. Which wing should I be looking at if I'm a new diver and plan on using single 80's for a while? Oh, and is the harness and wing all that will be needed for replace a jacket bcd?

I'd say if you're gonna go with a wing, go all the way with a backplate and wing. Get a single piece of webbing harness and a wing designed for a single tank. Trying to use a wing for doubles or a wing "that can do both" is just making yourself more work. And have someone who knows what they are doing adjust the harness for you.

If that's not your cup of tea, go for a good, well fitting, back-inflate BC.

bpage08: