How come BP/W cost $600+

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

scuba_moron

Contributor
Reaction score
Hello,

I am new to the sport and recently purchased a Seaquest Balance with an Airsource without doing due dilligence at $649. From the posting I read, I may have been better off buying a plate/wing combo, which I'm considering.

Even though I like my Balance, the plastics and nylon on that BC shouldn't have run more than $250. I know R&D and Marketing have to account for the small market and can command a high premium, but how can a steel plate with $15 webbing and a bladder coast $675?

I appreciate if you could shed some light on this as I'm considering switching to a BP/W.

What is the comfort level when wearing a blackplate with straps on bare skin on land, say walking to a beach dive.

Should I stick with my Balance for now as I don't intend on technical diving? My main goal is to seamline my BC a bit more.

Thanks again,

Balance is a good BC though. I have one and it feels very sturdy. I got my first BP/W the other day in an attempt to better streamline. Ya, the costs are crazy. $350 for the plate and harness, and another $350 for the air cell! Hope this thing has gold plating! :D

Do a little more shopping. You can get a plate and webbing for under $150 and a wing for about $200 to $250.

http://scubatoys.com/store/search_r...Search=fromSearch&txtsearchParamTxt=backplate
scubatoys has a Dive Rite plate for $65

http://scubatoys.com/store/search_r...omSearch=fromSearch&txtsearchParamTxt=webbing