Visiting late dec - thermal needs?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

davel518

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I'm fairly new to diving, and will be making my second visit to GC Dec 14-21. I was there previously in sept, and both my gf and I dove without any sort of wetsuit. I don't have a great feel yet for translating water temperature to 'feel', so I'm curious what most people wear that time of year. I'm hoping to get away with a 2mm shirt (not sure what they're called, wetshirt?) or something similar. I'm guessing my gf will require a shorty. I don't get chilly easily, she does a but more so but isn't overly sensitive.

Thanks! Glad I found this board. My apologies if this has been asked; I wasn't able to find it.

Hi Dave – I’d expect water temp to be around 80F-82F, so the thermal requirement would be pretty personal. Very possible to go with no wetsuit.

Despite that, I would recommend something that gives you more protection than a shortie. Maybe a diveskin or a light weight fullsuit. Don’t buy anything, just think about it and maybe rent something to try out.