If you could spend a month on Grand Cayman…..

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

mi000ke

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I am fortunate to be spending four weeks on Grand Cayman next Feb/March, especially after this wonderful New England winter. We probably will be renting an apartment or small house rather than staying with a resort. I am a novice diver (will have done about 20 dives by the time I get there) and wanted to get my number of dives up, so this will be like going to heaven. I’ve read just about everything I can on this board and the web about the Caymans, but I am overwhelmed by the possibilities: How to structure a reasonable dive schedule – whatever that means (is is possible to overdo the diving?). Whether or not to hook up with one dive company or resort for the entire time and try to negotiate a good rate (if that's possible), or just go a la carte. Whether I should invest in my own BCD kit (I have mask, snorkel, wetsuit, fins) or just rent (assume I would not travel with weights). Best mix of boat vs shore diving. Whether to spend some of the time going for AOW certification.

So for those of you familiar with GK, how would you spend your month? Thanks!

Lucky you!

Although I have visited GC many times I may not be the best person to advise you regarding living/diving on GC but you might try reaching out to East End Diver; he is a member of scuba board and he owns and rents a condo at Turtle Nest Inn in Bodden Town. He can give you local advice about dive ops, equipment, etc.