Bauer compressor oil

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

trident00

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I am new to all of this and learning all the time. I appreciate all that people are willing to share. I am working with a Bauer Purus compressor. It has been running with regular petroleum based Bauer oil. I know alot of people reccomend synthetic oil for breathing air compressors. In reading past posts it seems that you just can not replace the regular oil with synthetic. I have read that the entire compressor would have to be taken down and cleaned before synthetic oil could be used. I have a few questions regarding this.

Is the breathing air going to be comprimised using the standard petroleum based oil? I do plan to do partial pressure and stick blending.

What is my best bet with this compressor as far as oil, etc? I simply do not want to put together a system that produces breathing air that is not suitable for nitrox, or is oil laden and a health hazard.

Thanks for your time and advice.

Cheers, Walt

Patrolium based oils have been used in BA compressors for years infact the Canadian Navy only uses Esso compressor oil 122. However the oil does carbon up the valves and they will require alot more servicing then if you were to switch to synthetic.
Bauer recommends using Chemlub 800 and as Wookie has stated he used that oil in his compressors while compressing nitrox. If you plan on making Nitrox then I would advise switching to synthetic.