Replacing battery in Mares Icon HD

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Mercury

Registered
Reaction score
Hi to everyone,
First of all I would like to say that I have little experience with forums so my apologies if this post is in the wrong place or it has been answered before. The reason for me being here is because I am planning to buy a dive computer. It’s the Mares Icon HD plus transmitter I ended up, because for its simplicity, ergonomics, ease to read and its price. The thing is that although it has a rechargeable battery, which I am not sure if I like it, I will have to change it someday. The manufacturer says that it has to be done by an authorized dealer. What I would like to know is if the whole computer has to be taken apart in order to change the battery, just like the Uwatec Aladin series computers, or it is as difficult as changing a watch battery. I am good with tools but up to a certain point. So if anyone of you guys have any idea about this matter it will be appreciated because I couldn’t find anything on the internet. I thank you all in advance.