Recommendations for Dive Computers

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

jcpol

Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
I've rented a Suunto in the past. Does anyone have favorite models/ other brands. I'm new to diving but well on my way to obsession - a computer is in the cards, it's just a matter of when and which one.

Thanks
Jim

jcpol:
I've rented a Suunto in the past. Does anyone have favorite models/ other brands. I'm new to diving but well on my way to obsession - a computer is in the cards, it's just a matter of when and which one.

Thanks
Jim

I would go with an air intergrated / nitrox capable computer.

Some good choices would include the Suunto Cobra, Oceanic Pro Plus 2 or the Aeris.

I just purchased the Pro Plus 2, and have not dived it yet. I tried the Atom but it died within 48 hours (it did okay on the dives). It was probably just a defective unit but I decided a larger display, lower cost, and less chance of issues with 2 devices with batteries was the way to go. Because I had store credit upon returning the Atmo, I pretty much had to choose from what they had, otherwise I might have bought the Cobra.

The Pro Plus 2 has a great display, very simple interface, and is easy to set up for a dive. You can set a variety of alarms which are quite nice. The software however is pretty lame. I like the Suunto software better.