oceanic, suunto or uwatec computers...?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

isp475

Reaction score
I was wanting some advice on the Oceanic, Uwatec and Suunto line of computers. I am relatively new to diving having recently been certified after performing the OW dives in Hawaii for a universal referral. I am interested in purchasing some equipment but I can't make up my mind on the computers. I dove with a Oceanic Prodigy while performing the OW dives and really liked it, but I have heard some real good reviews on the Suunto and Uwatec computers. Price wise, I know the Oceanic is cheaper, and the others are more expensive. If I remember correctly, the Oceanic was more liberal than the Uwatec and Suunto. What type of algorythms do the three computers use and which is better? Any advice is appreciated. I was looking at the Oceanic Versa Pro, the Suunto Cobra and an Uwatec computer that was nitrox capable. Thanks. Tim

Since you have already decided on selecting a Nitrox capable computer (good choice by the way! :thumb: ), let me share with you a personal preference that I have for the display of information.

After doing several nitrox dives, and working through the Advanced Nitrox course through TDI, I have come to prefer that any computer I'm using display both N2 and O2 uptake graphs. To me, this is some key information that I need to keep track of.

But unfortunately, not all models of computers do this.