Mares M1

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

arun

Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I am new to this Board, even though I have been diving for nine years now.

I am thinking of getting this dive computer as my second unit. I currently have a Suunto Mosquito and my wife, who is relatively new to diving prefers to have the Suunto as it is not so bulky.

Having done the reviews online, I gather that it is quite conservative and scores well in terms of convenience as you can change the batteries yourself.

I would be grateful to anyone here who has a view on its reliability and its functions to share their views with me to help me make up my mind. Thanks in advance

I have a Mares Nemo and prefer that over the M1, works great just like a mosquito

I have a Mares M1 (non RGBM). It is definitely on the conservative side. It runs on standard AA batteries, which comes in handy, but isn't the most important consideration. The operation is pretty intuitive. The screen is easy to read. I have not had any issues with reliability and i haven't heard of any reliability problems from anyone else. The one thing that does bug me is the buttons. You have to push them pretty hard. This is minor though. It is also a pretty reasonably priced computer Not a bad choice for a second.

I prefer my old Uwatec because the M1 is a little more conservative than I prefer. If that doesn't bother you, I don't see a reason not to consider it.