Flying and diving?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

DEEP SEA

Contributor
Reaction score
It is an embossing question to ask but confusing to me. I have been diving for many years. In the past, maybe I have been lucky but I dove and jumped on a planes often. What is the real verdict? What can happen to you?

Here's the latest from DAN:
---------------
"DAN Research is currently at work on the question of how long scuba divers should wait before flying after diving. The U.S. Navy tables recommend that you wait at least two hours before you board a plane after making a single no-decompression dive; the U.S. Air Force says you should wait 24 hours.
Current DAN FAD Recommendations

DAN's original recommendations for flying after diving based on maximum altitude exposure of 8,000 feet / 2,440 meters (the cabin pressure of commercial airliners) are:

A minimum surface interval of 12 hours is required before ascent to altitude in a commercial jet airliner (altitude up to 8,000 feet).
Divers who plan to make daily, multiple dives for several days or make dives that require decompression stops should take special precautions and wait for an extended surface interval beyond 12 hours before flight. The greater the duration before flight the less likely decompression sickness is to occur.
Current Research