Tipping etiquette when diving?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

scubaalblake

Contributor
Reaction score
Hi the Mrs and I are off to Cozumel for a first trip in a few weeks - cant wait.
Staying at Scuba Club based on recommendations here and elsewhere.
Now we are Aussies and completely 'at sea' with the North American tipping culture.
When do you pay and how much?
Ive never tipped for diving elsewhere in the world (or got tipped when I was a pro instructor - except by americans) - but certainly get the impression that its part of the culture for cozumel.
So please help me out? How much? who? how often?
every dive, every drip? at the end of the week? just the divemaster?
please humour us non-Northern-Americans who dont have this same culture (generally) in our service industries.
Thanks

Contact Scuba Club Cozumel and they can send you the "suggested tip guide". They provide envelopes for each person/area and they are deposited in a box at the end of the trip. They cannot accept travelers cheques or personal checks. Have a great time and don't forget to bring a lock for the lockers. :D

thanks - thats great advice. I also just found a thread on cozumel tipping that seemed to suggest between $10 and $15 per tank (ie double that for a two tank dive day). Hopefully I wont be too far out with that.