DIR Standard for Octo Necklace & Primary Reg Colors?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hey, I'm new to scuba diving and the DIR idea caught my attention. I'm in the process of picking out my gear for the first time and I'm trying to learn everything I can about it. I know I want a BP/W setup, because I felt like I was being squashed with a vest inflated on my OW cert dives. I like the simplicity of harnesses, drings, and all the custom setups you can make. So I think this is the right area for me.

I like the octo necklace approach. Hand off your primary with a longer hose and use the octo on your neck. From my vast experience of 6 dives and OW cert, the octo is typically some sort of yellow casing/hosing. So in the DIR rules, if your primary is given to the OOA person, should that be yellow? have a yellow hose? Does it matter? Should I avoid buying a yellow octo if it's going on my neck?

Another idea that crossed my mind was to get 2 of the same primary regs and use one as the octo. They would have two different length hoses, and possibly colors. Any suggestions on that?

I tried searching, but no luck. I'm heading to my LDS today to start picking out gear, but wanted the DIR opinion. Thanks!