Best lithium battery chemistry for a DPV?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

AJMcc

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Posted this question in another thread but thought I would ask the question on its own.
I am NOT interested in any pontification on the dangers, or to re ignite a simmering feud between DPV/battery manufacturers.
I am interested in comments and information from like minded divers, that have researched these options.

"Please excuse the ignorance,
I am just beginning the process of sourcing a lithium battery replacement for my UV26/18 scooters and really don't know much about the different types of lithium batteries at the moment. Can you comment on your reasoning for choosing one lithium type over another, what makes one chemistry preferable to another?
In general terms taking energy, safety and longevity into account, what would you believe to be the most suitable type for these DPV applications?

* I do not plan to build a battery, I am sourcing manufactured batteries (drop in).
** I do know about SS and the OEM battery they offer, I am not looking to buy one, hence my questions above."

Any positive comments from anyone would be greatly appreciated. ( I see enough "your gonna die !" posts to last me a while)
04.gif

Thanks,

copied from the other thread