meds and diving

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

lejazhot

New
Reaction score
hi..new member from maine..how do you ask medical questions like can you dive when
you have HTN and take hctz??

lejazhot:
hi..new member from maine..how do you ask medical questions like can you dive when
you have HTN and take hctz??

Hi lejazhot

I'm not a doctor or even close. I am a diver with controled hypertension.

If I read the aplhabet soup right then you aked if you can dive with Hypetension while taking a diuretic.

What you need to do is check with your doctor. If you are in control then you will probably be cleared to dive. I was on HTZ when I started.

Be sure to speak with Dan or a dive savvy doctor. You will want to be extra vigilant with your hydration since the act of diving especially wet (not in a drysuit) is a powerful diuretic in it's own right. so you need to down more water.
http://www.diversalertnetwork.org/medical/faq/faq.asp?faqid=165

Get professional advice but don't let this deter you unlessyou are advised not to dive.

PS if you want to connect with a bunch of divers in Southern Maine PM me.

Pete

Welcome lejazhot! I'd concur with Leftwinger16. DAN is always a good choice, but a doc who is also a diver would be ideal.

Welcome to the board!
I hope you can get clearance to dive safely.

Joe