Will I ever be able to dive?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
Hello all,

Lots of great info on this site, glad I found it. Some of my background, I am a college student living in Kentucky. My parents were dive instructors and gave up their passion to spend more time with me when they had me, 21 years ago. They've been diving all over the world and its something I've always wanted to do.

Here's the problem: I was born with a cholesteatoma in my left ear, which required multiple surgeries and eventually a radical mastoidectomy to finish it all off, when I was about 5-6 years old. For those who don't recognize the medical terms, a radical mastoidectomy basically means that I have almost nothing left in my ear - no ear drum, etc. It's essentially an empty cavity. I have a 95% hearing loss in this ear, and I must wear a custom-made ear plug to seal out water, even while in the shower. Absolutely no water can get in, or it bleeds and can cause infection.

I have heard of the Pro-plugs (vented ear plugs) and Pro-Ears mask, but have read reviews where the user states they can leak water. Are these my only options? Because with that kind of reliability I could never use them. I'd be totally down with wearing an astronaut-type helmet/dome that covers my entire head, if there is such a thing. Anything short of buying a submarine I'd be happy with. Being an engineering student I have a hard time with taking no for an answer on this sorta thing, there's gotta be something out there!