Diabetes and diving

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

missmeld

New
Reaction score
My name is Melissa and I am 31 years old. I have insulin dependent diabetes since I was 13. I have been using an insulin pump for about 8 years now. I don't have excellent control. My last A1c was 8. I have no complications associated with diabetes. When I was pregnant 2 years ago, I had excellent control with A1c's of 6. Since then, I had an insurance change which caused me to find a new doctor who apparently didn't know much about pumps. I have since found a new doctor and we are working our way to get me better control. I now use an Animas IR2000 pump. My husband and I are planning on going to St. Marteen for Labor Day weekend and since he is a SCUBA diver, we thought it would be great if I could finally learn too. Plus we live in Florida and the opportunities to dive are abundant. Originally my doctor's office gave me a letter saying it was okay to dive. However I have found out it was my doctor's PA that wrote the letter and the doctor and her other PA do not agree that I should dive till they know more about diving and diabetes. Meanwhile I have already started taking lessons, with my ocean dive scheduled for Aug 28th and 29th. They said they have been trying to speak to a doctor with the pump company who specializes in sports medicine. This has been going on for 3 weeks now, and they have not gotten any information. They said they do not feel comfortable giving me the okay to dive. Time is of the essence and I was wondering if